The #365grateful project

Hey y´all!

So now that I finally got some time on my hands while I`m sitting at school editing pictures for the school newspaper, I thought I´d tell you a little about the #365grateful project that I`m participating in.

Earlier this year, on January 1st to be exact, one of my friends posted a link on FB about this woman who for one year took pictures of things she was grateful for, you know the little things that we all take for granted and that would generally just pass by and be forgotten in a moment. Yup, you know what I mean. So yeah, I took a quick look at the website and I was hooked. In the last couple of years, I had felt like time had just been passing by and that most days when I was stressed at work or annoyed at something in life, I kept wishing for the weekend to come, or for summer to be there so that I could plan my next vacay; there were few days that I took the time to enjoy. I figured I´d give it a try; I love taking pics and even if I didn´t get anything out of the project, I would have a collection of photos that would serve as a diary, and so I started.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.31.47 AM

The first pic I posted was of one of my best friends and me: I’ve known that girl literally  my entire life, but it had been ages since we’ve spent NYE together, and this year it had happened and we were both talking about how life always ends up surprising us.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.31.30 AM

Jan 2nd came, and then Jan 3rd,  and then soon enough every day would pass and I would post a pic; some days were harder than others: I would literary be coming back from a long day at work pissed at something, and then I’d realize that I need to post a picture and so I’d sit there for a few minutes reflecting on what happened that day, and I’d find one thing that made me smile that day and not surprisingly I always found something and it always made me feel better afterwards because let’s be real: life is not all that bad 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.32.34 AM

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.32.19 AM

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.32.52 AM

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.33.12 AM

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.33.48 AM

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 11.34.20 AM

And here I sit 280 days later, and I’m still participating in this project: some friends make fun of me and some give me little compliments about how this project makes their days as happy as mine, but no matter what they tell me, I appreciate that they take a moment and look at my pics, and I really do hope that one of my pics or comments has made them smile at least once over the course of the year.

Less than a 100 pictures to go before the end of phase 1 of this project, but honestly with how good this has made me feel, I wouldn’t be surprised if I go for the #730grateful. Who knows.

Life’s good,

Dom.

 

Leave a Reply

