A trip through a Norwegian grocery store

Heya!

so, in my last post I mentioned that I’ve had this blog post idea that I wanted to write about, and I guess now is the time. If you’ve been following this blog regularly, you’ve probably heard me complain about grocery stores and prices in this country multiple times. Over the last week or so, I got into a few conversations with international friends about random things none of us understands about the grocery stores here, and I figured since you’ve been so patient in reading all about my complaints, maybe I can dedicate one blog post to officially introduce you to the Norwegian grocery stores and things that absolutely do not make any sense to me as an expat living in this country, so here it goes: the good, the bad & the ugly.

1) Electronic price signs

photo 2

I appreciate those. I really do. Most of the grocery stores around here use electronic price signs to show the price of the different items which is great and very eco-friendly – just like you’d expect from those Norwegians. However, you’d be surprised at how constantly the prices of products change: especially of produce. Like broccoli and cauliflower: I doubt that there were two weeks in a row since I’ve been here where the prices of these two items stayed constant, and in this case: the price ranges from 10kr to 20kr, so sometimes it doubled over night. (FYI: $1 equals to 6-7kr)

2) Zucchini

photo 1

I will never understand this. It’s one of the things that confuse me the most about Bergen so far. How in the world is zucchini so freakin expensive? One piece, one piece of zucchini costs 55kr? The first time I saw the sign I thought it’s a joke, but no it’s not; it has been there for a while now and unfortunately doesn’t really change.

3) Tea

photo 5

Another mystery in this land of mysteries is the tea price: I finally found something that is actually pretty decently priced. A box of Earl Grey costs 10kr which is pretty good, but what confuses me is that the box of 50 teabags costs exactly the same as that of 25 teabags. Am I missing something here?

4) Cheapest item in the store

Wanna guess? Just think of an item, one item that you think is cheaper than the rest? Ok, well, I’ll tell you. Tuna. Yup. Tuna. One can of tuna (with water not oil) costs 3.5kr. It’s every international’s student savior. On days where you realize you’ve been spending too much money of food, this is all you’ve got.

photo 5

5) Chocolate is EXPENSIVE

photo 1

but so is everything that is considered ‘unhealthy’ or has extra ‘sugar;. Norway apparently has a general sugar tax.

6) Salmon is CHEAP

Lidding_DB

well, not like cheap cheap, but it’s definitely affordable for an everyday meal, and it’s definitely cheaper than most other proteins (well except for canned tuna of course). Isn’t it ironic though? I’ve eaten so much salmon over the last few months that I realized that I need a salmon cleanse, so I haven’t bought any salmon for the last 2 weeks and I’m still not craving it.

7) Cheese slicer

photo

I got so excited when I found the cheese slicer being sold at my local grocery store the other day (Norwegians claim the cheese slicer was invented here, Wiki approves the rumor too, although I remember someone mentioning to me that this is not really 100% accurate). Anyways, remember how I’ve been complaining about those ridiculous cheese prices that this country has? Yea, still complaining. But, since cheese in big blocks is cheaper than sliced cheese, I am now the proud owner of a new cheese slicer and a block of Norwegian cheese.

Guess this is it for now. I’ll prolly think of some more things I forgot to mention here and share them with you at some point in the future.

A bientot!

Dom.

One thought on “A trip through a Norwegian grocery store

  1. Do they grow most of the food locally? Also, I guess they don’t cultivate during winter so they sort of need to store the food which might jump up some of the prices…just guessing here…! Cool Stuff!\

    Like

Leave a Reply

