These are a few of my favorite Parisian things…

Salut!

Over the last few months that I’ve lived in Paris (or nearby :P), I have come to develop a few favorite things that I recommend my visiting friends to do, and given that more and more friends ask me for recommendations I figured I can write a blog post about it and share it with everyone who could be interested out there. 

I’m sure I will add to this list as time goes by, but for now here’s a few of my favorite things to do in the city. Food recommendations will follow in a separate blog post.

  • Musee du Louvre

IMG_0132.2015-03-25_171605

Duh. But honestly, it needs to happen; you just can’t skip it. Don’t just go for the Mona Lisa, but do go for the thousands and thousands of other gorgeous paintings and sculptures. Take your time, wander around, and appreciate it all.

  •  Jardin du Luxembourg

2015-09-12_172922582_CF119_iOS

One of my favorite parks in the city. Especially on a sunny day, bring a book, a drink, and take a seat by the fountain while soaking in all the Vitamin D you can get.

  • Notre Dame

2015-10-27_112449915_21A02_iOS

One of my favorite churches I’ve been to in my life. Truly magnificent. And I am yet to make it to the top to see the view on a clear day; still on my Parisian travel list.

  • St Etienne du Mont (church behind Pantheon)

11707582_10153519209957848_4458649898663426533_n

A small yet cute church. If you’re in the Pantheon area (which you will be if you decide to go to the Jardin du Luxembourg) then I recommend you drop by for a quick look. It’s different from all the other churches you’re probably used to seeing.

  • Shakespeare and Company

12688309_10153972029817848_3515117829729336328_n

My favorite English bookstore in the city. I recommend you to go during the week and in the evening. The place is open till 11pm and the later you go, the less crowded it will be and you will actually get a chance to pick up a book and sit down and skim through it.

  • Centre Pompidou

IMG_0161.2015-03-26_091353

I was lucky enough to come here with a guide, but honestly, I still think it’s a cool museum to walk through if you’re the least interested in Modern Art. If not, just come and take a look at the building from outside.

  • Tour Eiffel

2015-10-31_073711366_CFDF8_iOS

Some people might hate me for saying this, but I still refuse to go up the Tour Eiffel; not sure if I’ll bring myself to do so before the end of my time here. I am not saying skip coming here completely. No, no: you should definitely come and take a closer look, even go to the bottom of the tower and stand right there in the middle and look up and see how crazy big it actually is. But for the money and time you spent on your ticket up, you could be doing so much more.

  • Arc de Triomphe

IMG_9946.2015-03-23_115048

On another note, I would recommend going up the Arc de Triomphe. Gorgeous views, shorter lines, and it can’t hurt that the Tour Eiffel is in the view.

  • Tour Montparnasse

IMG_7315.2014-09-14_183256

Tour Montparnasse is what the Parisians like to call the ugliest building in Paris, and honestly, they might be right; it’s an office building that looks like it was taken from downtown Manhatten and randomly installed in the beauty of Parisian architecture. However, what it does offer is a gorgeous sunset view that includes the Tour Eiffel. And you can take an elevator up, so definitely consider it.

  • Jardins de Versailles 

2015-09-27_162013975_DB431_iOS

Love this place. Visiting the Versailles palace and the gardens would require you a full day (especially if the weather is nice), but honestly, while it’s super crowded and busy, I would definitely make time for it. If you don’t want to pay the ticket to enter the palace, you can skip the lines and just walk into the gardens from the free entrance 🙂

  • Saint Chapelle

IMG_0219.2015-03-27_084626

A truly gorgeous cathedral, tiny but oh-so-pretty. Weird opening times etc. so do some research before you decide to go. Definitely recommended.

  • Roam the streets of Marais

Marais is one of the cute Parisian neighborhoods that is full of little stores and roads. Take some time during your visit, and get to enjoy it.

  • Go to the top of Institut du Monde Arabe

The view from the top of the building is pretty nice, and free! Just take the elevator up and look around!

  • Montmarte and Sacre Coeur

2015-09-19_142831134_1DD46_iOS

While huge crowds will be filling the Sacre Coeur steps especially on nice days, you cannot really complete a trip to Paris without going up to the Sacre Coeur and Montmartre. Take some time to enjoy the view over the city and later walk through the tiny alleyways around Montmartre.

  • Château de Fontainebleu

IMG_0319.2015-03-28_131457

If you can afford another day trip, I would recommend going to see the Fontainebleu palace. Less crowded than Versailles, but same French awesomeness. I went on a really rainy day, so I didn’t get to enjoy the gardens as much, but I did here they were supposed to be great as well.

 Hope you love your stay in France, I know I do!

P.S. Here’s a link to my favorite Parisian snacks places 🙂

Love,

Dom.

3 thoughts on “These are a few of my favorite Parisian things…

Leave a Reply

