Norway thoughts…

Hey you!

Earlier today during my run I came across a gorgeous view, and I realized that no matter how many times I end up running the same route, I’ll always come across something that makes me appreciate living here. I’m honestly not sure that I fully realize how good I have it just yet.

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 5.24.10 PM

And then I started thinking about the little things that I learned to love, hate, appreciate about this city and country or that just surprised me over my time here and I decided to share some of them with you. And now that I’m actually typing this and looking at today’s date I realize that it’s been a little over 2 months since my move, which is weird: I’m so comfortable in my life here right now that it seems like I’ve been here for much longer: Gotta love Norway!

1) The views.

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 5.37.44 PM

Well, like I mentioned before: I just can’t get enough of the natural beauty this place has. No matter whether the sun is shining, whether it’s raining, windy or cloudy, there is always something to enjoy when looking out of a window or simply walking down the street.

2) This city is actually bigger than I thought.

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 5.24.31 PM

It is honestly a little embarrassing to admit; my dorm is located right by school which is 10 mins away from the city center. I’ve been there a few times and you can literally walk the entire thing in a day, but aside from town and the couple mountains surrounding school, I still haven’t explored Norway much. One of our friends lives in another dorm which is 40 mins away from school, so basically the other side of town. She invited us over the other day, and my friends and I realized that it was our first time to get to see so many new parts of Bergen. The area where companies have most of  their offices, the residential areas, a couple more fjords and plenty of more gorgeousness that we didn’t know existed. Plus, once we made the treck to her cute litte dorm, we were in for an awesome wine and cheese night! Who wouldn’t love that?

3) Prices, oh the prices…

You’ve already heard me complain about this a bazillion times, but over the last 48 hours I was tagged in the same post twice and I had to share it with you. SO TRUE.

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 5.23.58 PM

And the funny thing is that some of the comments included the following:

– “I’m from Norway, and this is false. You can get a nice plastic bag for under 1$.”

– “In Egypt, you can get the egg, the coffee, the baguette, the ice cream, the pretzel and the gum with $1.”

4) Coffeshops

I’ve been craving the feeling of sitting in a coffeeshop and enjoying a good cup of coffee, and apparently I can get to do that here; I finally got insider tips for a couple of places and I can’t wait to try em. (More to come on that.)

5) Appreciation

So, a few weeks ago I got picked to write for the school’s student blog; I have wanted to do that since I was first researching NHH myself just because I knew how much I enjoyed reading the blog and I wanted to contribute. I wasn’t expected anything in return, but earlier this week I was surprised by an Amazon gift card for my contribution. The fact that people here appreciate others makes a huge difference. Link to blog is here.

6) Trying out new things

I’ve already blogged about some of the extracurricular stuff that I’ve been involved in and which I absolutely love. But this week I finally got to see my name printed in the school’s newspaper; isn’t that cool? Somehow without planning it, I made it in the newspaper of every school I’ve attended so far haha

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 5.47.14 PM

Until next time!

Dom.

Leave a Reply

